Congress of the United States Washington, BC 20515

April 6, 2022

The Honorable Antony J. Blinken Secretary of State U.S. Department of State 2201 C St., NW Washington, DC 20520

Dear Secretary Blinken:

We write to urge that the Administration continues to call upon and work with Lebanese officials to ensure that parliamentary elections scheduled for May 15, 2022, are carried out on time, transparently and free of corruption. With dueling political and economic crises, the May parliamentary elections are the first opportunity the Lebanese people will have to cast their ballots since protests in the country began in 2019 after years of corruption and mismanagement.

We concur with Ambassador Dorothy Shea that in holding elections on time, there is "no wiggle room," and that the failure to do so should result in swift condemnation for those responsible in any delay. With this in mind, we strongly urge the Administration to:

- Speak out against any entity or individual that instigates the corruption, disruption, postponement or cancellation of the May 15, 2022 parliamentary elections;
- Work with relevant stakeholders to ensure a successful election monitoring operation is undertaken to ensure a free and fair election, which includes collaborating with stakeholders, qualified individuals, and organizations planning Lebanon's election monitoring effort;
- Ensure that diaspora voting outside of Lebanon occurs on time, transparently, and votes are independently counted and reported in a manner consistent with current law;
- Continue to support the Lebanese Armed Forces and Internal Security Forces in maintaining security and stability ahead of, and during, elections; and,
- Continue to support Lebanon's vibrant civil society in its pursuit of democracy, adherence to the rule of law, and the promotion and protection of human rights.

Thank you for your attention and action in helping Lebanon achieve a corruption-free government as well as free and fair May elections.

Sincerely,

Whete

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Darrell Issa Member of Congress

Ind N. Culli

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

1600

Debbie Dingell U Member of Congress

Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Marcy Xaptur

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

ed W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Tom Cole Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

miller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Canolyn B. Malne

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Adam Kinzinger Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

ames A. Himes

1CS Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Member of Congress